Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Kihon. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

You are submitting your information to Kihon and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Seandra 2 days ago

Spicy Albacore

The simple spicy tuna hand roll is incredibly fresh and always made exactly the way I want it along with everything on the menu - fantastic!

Caseylockridge10 11 days ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

Best Sushi for miles!

Jabar1919 19 days ago

Sweet Shrimp

Amazing food. Amazing service and Peter at the sushi bar was incredible. We had him make some special sushi for us and he did not disappoint. By far best sushi in Long Beach if not SoCal. We came by chance to grab sushi and discovered this gem. Fresh fish made exactly how it should be. We can't wait to come back

Canac74 about 1 month ago

Tuna

The tuna tasting is my favorite dish, not just at this restaurant but of all the things I could think of eating. It's a combination of 3 types of tuna sushi with its own sauce each... This is Definitely the best sushi in Long Beach. Authentic Japanese , fresh fish and reasonably priced for the excellent quality.

Kylepwootten about 1 month ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

So I have basically had everything on their menu and it's all amazing but the Smoked Octopus Carpaccio is a true stand out winner. Whether you like octopus or not this dish is truly spectacular. A staple for every time my wife and I dine there, I have been truly missing it during these trying times. I will be loyal to Kihon for life and this will always be the first thing. I order!

Chris about 1 month ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

The Black Cod Saikyo Yaki is heavenly. The buttery fish flakes off easily and melts in your mouth. The salty sweet caramalized marinade is divine. Served with a pickled ginger flower to tease your palate, it is a perfect dish.

V. about 2 months ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

This is now one of my favorite dishes! It's unique smoked filled presentation prepared your mouth for a wonderful surprise!! Love it...

Julia about 2 months ago

Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice

So yummy; we get it every time! Sometimes we have to get two otherwise the family fights over it.

Matt over 2 years ago

Braised Short Ribs

the best short ribs I have ever had!

Henry almost 3 years ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

Good

James over 3 years ago

New Naples (cut)

Elegantly presented and fresh-tasting, his new item is worth the trip just for this Naples Roll!

Brendan over 3 years ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

The best tonkotsu ramen I've ever tasted. Wowz.

Justis over 3 years ago

Shoyu Ramen

Seems good.

Federica 5 days ago

Salmon Belly

The best sushi in Long Beach! Male sure to check it out

Yczech 12 days ago

Ceviche

Some of the most amazing ceviches. Every time I eat there is a MUST eat. Love it

Raejrsalmax 19 days ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

I love Kihon, not just for the delicious Japanese cuisine, but for the excellent experience that they provide on every visit. The owner and his team are all great, courteous and genuine. I have introduced several friends to Kihon and they have all left happy, impressed and with an eagerness to go back from both, Orange and LA counties. If you were to begin with one dish, I would highly recommend starting with their Smoked Octopus Carpaccio. It is a staple, in my opinion, unique to Kihon and a great precursor for the next delicious dish.

Aleciacbernard about 1 month ago

Octopus

The smoked octopus carpaccio is always amazing and the sushi is A+ and the selection of fish is top quality. I've been a customer since Kihon first opened and I loved it day one and still do. Erwin and his staff do everything in their power to make the dining experience memorable whether you come in for a snack, take out or dining in. You may come in as a stranger but you definitely walk out as family.

Houri about 1 month ago

Toro (Fatty Tuna)

We love the Toro Sampler! It's not always available. But when it is, it is so delicate and sublime, the toro melts in your mouth. Our favorite sushi place hands down!

Aboniann about 1 month ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

Lovely, flavorful broth! So filling too! Highly recommend 🥢🍜

Tatianadorman about 2 months ago

Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice

This is the BEST Japanese restaurant. This dish is one of my favorites on the menu; I order it all the time. It is a perfect dish to either start with or to have with your main course. I highly recommend!

Guest over 1 year ago

Albacore with Crispy Onions

this is great !

Janice over 2 years ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

To die for!!!

Brendan about 3 years ago

Albacore with Crispy Onions

You HAVE to try this dish, outstanding!!

Tony over 3 years ago

Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno

Had this dish...Loved it! Ingredients were super fresh, the sauce was awesome and the jalapenos provided just the right amount of heat. I like the simplicity of this dish too. Not drowning in sauce, or a thousand other ingredients. Def try this...

Mike over 3 years ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

Loved it. Will definitely be back for more next time I'm in town.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

July 2020:
Coming soon!

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA