Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Kihon. We'd love to have your feedback!

Naples Island

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Kihon and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Guest 7 days ago

Mochi Ice Cream

No but i want to try

Soontobecec 19 days ago

The White Russian (cut)

White Russian! By far my favorite roll! I have been getting this roll since they're were sushi of naples! We were so sad when they shut down! Lo e this little quaint restaurant and the quality of the food and fish is always spot on!

Benita 2 months ago

Albacore Belly

Ordered a variety of sushi and sashimi.. everything we ordered was uber fresh! Great customer service and suggestions! We live close by, but would travel a distance to come back! In fact, we are going back tomorrow!

Aviationprinc3ss 3 months ago

Jumbo Scallop

We absolutely loved the buttery texture and sweetness of the scallops dotted with the wonderful flavor of real wasabi.

Carole 3 months ago

Fresh Water Eel

I love this sushi! Its different from the regular unagi...YUMMY and going there to eat, is very comfortable. They are doing it right and staying safe! Kudos to Irwin! Thank you!

Elissahuth 3 months ago

Toro (Fatty Tuna)

We had omakase sushi by Chef Peter and it was the most amazing, artistic, and delicious assortment of sushi we've ever experienced!

Silvia 3 months ago

Ceviche

Absolutely love this dish! The marinating juices with the fresh fish make this app so bomb. Highly recommend it!

Christa 4 months ago

Albacore Belly

Amazing. Perfect service!

Seandra 4 months ago

Spicy Albacore

The simple spicy tuna hand roll is incredibly fresh and always made exactly the way I want it along with everything on the menu - fantastic!

Casey 4 months ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

Best Sushi for miles!

Jabar1919 5 months ago

Sweet Shrimp

Amazing food. Amazing service and Peter at the sushi bar was incredible. We had him make some special sushi for us and he did not disappoint. By far best sushi in Long Beach if not SoCal. We came by chance to grab sushi and discovered this gem. Fresh fish made exactly how it should be. We can't wait to come back

Canac74 5 months ago

Tuna

The tuna tasting is my favorite dish, not just at this restaurant but of all the things I could think of eating. It's a combination of 3 types of tuna sushi with its own sauce each... This is Definitely the best sushi in Long Beach. Authentic Japanese , fresh fish and reasonably priced for the excellent quality.

Kylepwootten 5 months ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

So I have basically had everything on their menu and it's all amazing but the Smoked Octopus Carpaccio is a true stand out winner. Whether you like octopus or not this dish is truly spectacular. A staple for every time my wife and I dine there, I have been truly missing it during these trying times. I will be loyal to Kihon for life and this will always be the first thing. I order!

Christopher 5 months ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

The Black Cod Saikyo Yaki is heavenly. The buttery fish flakes off easily and melts in your mouth. The salty sweet caramalized marinade is divine. Served with a pickled ginger flower to tease your palate, it is a perfect dish.

V. 6 months ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

This is now one of my favorite dishes! It's unique smoked filled presentation prepared your mouth for a wonderful surprise!! Love it...

Julia 6 months ago

Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice

So yummy; we get it every time! Sometimes we have to get two otherwise the family fights over it.

Matt over 2 years ago

Braised Short Ribs

the best short ribs I have ever had!

Henry about 3 years ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

Good

James over 3 years ago

New Naples (cut)

Elegantly presented and fresh-tasting, his new item is worth the trip just for this Naples Roll!

Brendan almost 4 years ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

The best tonkotsu ramen I've ever tasted. Wowz.

Mmartinpga 10 days ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

Cant go wrong with anything here but tried the Black Cod recently and wow definitely next level. Must try.

Max about 2 months ago

Shoyu Ramen

Absolutely the best!!!

Mjibarra86 2 months ago

Agedashi Tofu

Traditional flavors with a hot dashi and just the right amount of garnish. Not overly coated with starch and nice and lightly fried. Just one of the amazing dishes Kihon has to offer!

Kalifournier11 3 months ago

Popcorn Shrimp Tempura

Peter is the absolute best. He created a special hand roll using the popcorn shrimp tempura, crab meat avo on soy paper~ prince roll. The ankimo is absolutely amazing same with the toro tasting. Just melts in your mouth. Highest quality fish!

Alyssajean1198 3 months ago

Nasu Miso

I just dined at Kihon last night because I just had to show my friend the quality of this sushi. Its not an understatement when I say this is the best sushi I've ever tasted. And on top of that their appetizers are equally phenomenal in their own trade. For example, this Nasu Miso will surprise you. I'm not a fan of eggplant, never have been, but this miso glazed eggplant changed my entire perspective on eggplant. The glaze is perfect, the texture is perfect, the taste is richer than you'd expect. I would highly recommend this place and if I were rich, I would personally guarantee money back if you didn't enjoy the food.

Charles 3 months ago

Tuna (Bluefin or Big Eye)

Everything a Kihon is delicious! Been many times and always amazing. Spicy Miso and all Nigiri is among my favorite! Ask for any custom cut roll!

Pamela 3 months ago

Nasu Miso

this is one my favorite dish at kihon that i usually order because of it's smooth, velvety texture & subtle, but overwhelming flavor. all of that combined makes it so unique to other dishes. I try to make it at home but cannot duplicate it the same way that kihon makes it. thank you for letting me share my favorite kihon dish.

Laurafsun 4 months ago

Toro (Fatty Tuna)

The toro flight was amazing!!! Melt in your mouth fatty goodness. I really appreciate that they don't season their rice with too much vinegar so that you can really taste the quality of the fish.

Federica 4 months ago

Salmon Belly

The best sushi in Long Beach! Male sure to check it out

Yczech 4 months ago

Ceviche

Some of the most amazing ceviches. Every time I eat there is a MUST eat. Love it

Raejrsalmax 5 months ago

Smoked Octopus Carpaccio

I love Kihon, not just for the delicious Japanese cuisine, but for the excellent experience that they provide on every visit. The owner and his team are all great, courteous and genuine. I have introduced several friends to Kihon and they have all left happy, impressed and with an eagerness to go back from both, Orange and LA counties. If you were to begin with one dish, I would highly recommend starting with their Smoked Octopus Carpaccio. It is a staple, in my opinion, unique to Kihon and a great precursor for the next delicious dish.

Alecia 5 months ago

Octopus

The smoked octopus carpaccio is always amazing and the sushi is A+ and the selection of fish is top quality. I've been a customer since Kihon first opened and I loved it day one and still do. Erwin and his staff do everything in their power to make the dining experience memorable whether you come in for a snack, take out or dining in. You may come in as a stranger but you definitely walk out as family.

Houri 5 months ago

Toro (Fatty Tuna)

We love the Toro Sampler! It's not always available. But when it is, it is so delicate and sublime, the toro melts in your mouth. Our favorite sushi place hands down!

Ann 5 months ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

Lovely, flavorful broth! So filling too! Highly recommend 🥢🍜

Tatiana 6 months ago

Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice

This is the BEST Japanese restaurant. This dish is one of my favorites on the menu; I order it all the time. It is a perfect dish to either start with or to have with your main course. I highly recommend!

Guest almost 2 years ago

Albacore with Crispy Onions

this is great !

Janice almost 3 years ago

Black Cod Saikyo Yaki

To die for!!!

Brendan over 3 years ago

Albacore with Crispy Onions

You HAVE to try this dish, outstanding!!

Tony over 3 years ago

Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno

Had this dish...Loved it! Ingredients were super fresh, the sauce was awesome and the jalapenos provided just the right amount of heat. I like the simplicity of this dish too. Not drowning in sauce, or a thousand other ingredients. Def try this...

Mike almost 4 years ago

Tonkotsu Ramen

Loved it. Will definitely be back for more next time I'm in town.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA